651-224-3038   •   1140 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105

Getting to Know: Kalee!

March 28, 2017

We recently added an additional veterinary technician position to ensure that we are fully staffed. Please help us welcome our new technician, Kalee, and get to know her in her own words!

What make you decide to become a veterinary technician? 

“I’ve always loved animals and nature. When I was a little girl, my neighbor’s cat had a litter of kittens and I piled those kittens into my baby stroller and pushed them around the back yard I thought it was the greatest thing ever! It just seemed like an obvious choice to make a career working with animals.”

Where did you go to school and what year did you graduate?

I graduated from Argosy University in 2012″

Do you have an area of special interest in veterinary medicine?  

I enjoy educating clients on pet health care. I have always found internal medicine cases fascinating and I’m really interested in tick-borne diseases, especially Lyme disease. Parasitology and hematology are also pretty interesting to me. “

Tell us about your pets. 

My fur babies! Oakley- 13 y/o old Husky/Coon Hound Mix, I was 17 years old when I got him. He went to my first apartment with me when I left home and he was my first true ‘puppy love’ He has 1 blue eye and 1 brown eye. Lola- 9 y/o Dogue de Bordeaux, I’ve had her since she was about 7 weeks old. She loves to swim and go to dog friendly patio’s with us. Brody- ~4 y/o boxer/pitbull mix from AHS Golden Valley who loves to run along with us when we bike and he loves to camp/hike with us. Bells- 11 y/o DSH dilute calico from Last Hope-Shes a typical sassy calico and seems to like living with 3 big dogs.”

Tell us about your history with Grand Avenue Veterinary Center.

I was working as technician elsewhere when I saw an ad for a Technician job opening. I was looking for a busier/bigger practice and I thought it sounded like a great place to work. It’s been a good transition and I’m excited about my future as a team member!

What was your favorite food when you were a child? 

My favorite food as a child was macaroni and cheese or pretty much anything my Grandma G would make, to this day, I think this still holds true. They’re my definition of comfort food!”

What is your favorite indoor or outdoor activity?

I like to spend time outdoors, especially in the warmer months. I like to camp and spend time at the lake. BBQ or outdoor patios, hiking with the dogs. Anything where I get to take advantage of our nice Minnesota summers!”

What is your favorite form of exercise?

My fiance and I like to mountain bike! Carver Lake in Woodbury is one of my favorite local trails. I also like to paddle board in the summer and do yoga.”

If you could learn anything, what would it be? 

I really wish I was fluent at a foreign language. I should have studied harder in Spanish in high school! It’s a goal of mine to learn a language someday.”

When you have 30 minutes of free time, how do you spend it?

I love to read. Crime Mystery, a little fantasy or any novel that has a little suspense can keep me interested. One of my favorite books is The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein, it was given to me by a former client and I’ve read it twice now.”

What is the best gift you have ever received?  

It’s a tough decision but I’d have to say the best gift I’ve gotten was my dog Lola. She was given to me by a family friend. She is the sweetest dog! She’s brought so much joy to my life over the last 9 years.”

Related Posts

ePetHealth Unavailable

October 13, 2015

Parking Meters on Grand Ave

September 23, 2015

Canine Influenza Update

June 19, 2015